Cheyenne River Sioux Tribal Ventures: Implementing the 10 year poverty reduction plan.

TV Plan bookcover
Cheyenne River Looking to The Future Radio Show
©2011 Cheyenne River Sioux Tribal Ventures | P.O. Box 1683, Eagle Butte, SD 57625 | ph: 605-964-2016

History:The Cheyenne River Sioux reservation is part of the territorial lands of the Great Sioux Nation.  The reservation was established under the Treaty of 1868.

People: Comprised of four (4) Ospaye (bands) of the Great Sioux Nation; the Mnicoujou, the Siha Sapa, the Oohe Numpa and the Itazipco.

Tribal Government: The Indian Reorganization Act established the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribal government and the Tribal Council system which began governing in April 1935. The governing body consists of 15 representatives from the six political districts; elected at-large are three executives – Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary. Officials serve four-year staggered terms with elections occurring every two years.

Tribal Enrollment *: 17,259

Reservation/Location: The Cheyenne River Sioux Indian Reservation is located in north central South Dakota within the exterior boundaries established by the Congressional Act of March 2, 1889.

Tribal Headquarters: Eagle Butte, SD (92 miles northeast of the SD state capitol of Pierre, SD).
* Tribal enrollment office official count March 2011. Tribal enrollment office estimates that approximately 8,000 enrolled tribal members live on the reservation. (Anderson, 2011)
** Native American historically undercounted in US Census. Little more than half the reservation's residents took part in the 2000 count, reflecting a long pattern of non-participation among Native Americans whose deep-rooted skepticism of the federal government, among other factors, has made them historically one of the country's most under counted groups. The issue is especially keen on reservations, where the U.S. Census Bureau estimated it had under counted the population by more than 12 percent in 1990. (Keckler, Chairman, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, 2011)
Population data combined for Dewey and Ziebach Counties (South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development, 2011)
CRST and State of South Dakota negotiated tax agreement states that 78% Cheyenne Reservation population is Native American. (Keckler, Chairman, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, 2011)

Size/Land Base: 2,806,913 acres (similar in size to Connecticut); 1,400,614 acres of tribal trust-land, one of the largest reservations in the nation. Reservation landscape is predominately rural and isolated with the land being mostly rolling prairie.

Largest City/Communities: Eagle Butte, SD is the largest city; the reservation residents live in one of 16 tribal communities or in scattered rural homes across the reservation.  The reservation makes up the entirety of two SD counties: Dewey (Timber Lake, SD  - county seat); and Ziebach (Dupree, SD – county seat).

Reservation Population**: US Census Data Reservation Population: 8840 (all residents); 6640 (Native American)
Population per square mile: Dewey County – 2.59; Ziebach – 1.28
Per Capita Personal Income: Dewey County - $9,251; Ziebach - $7,463

Cheyenne River Sioux Indian Reservation


Tribal Ventures
Our Reservation
Contact Tribal Ventures
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe
Northwest Area Foundation
Strategy 1
Stragety 2
Strategy 3